Sign in to follow this  
Tremors

sort of new to game making

Tremors    100
Hi, i am sort of new to game making. i have some experience with rpg maker VX but i want to move away from the rpg game style and more onto the FPS genre. i want to know a good engine / program i can use to make a game with little to none coding (dont know much about coding but i want to learn) my ultimate goal is to make a small lvl zombie game and then turn it into a big lvl zombie game. so, does anyone have any advice for me on a engine thats easy to use for beginners? i really want to learn how to make fps games. preferabley a free engine IF possible or a engine i can *cough buy cough* Thanks if anyone replies with some helpful comments, T.

Galima    122
Hello Tremors.

I'm kinda in the same situation as you, how to make a game.

I'm kinda confused because you say
"i want to know a good engine / program i can use to make a game with little to none coding (dont know much about coding but i want to learn)"

Both you say you don't wont to code very much but you want to learn how to code ?

If you want to make a proper game you should learn programming from the START but you do also have the option to choose a Drag and Drop program to make a little but not so cool game.

There is no easy way to make games, you cannot just start with a engine and begin programming thats impossible its like saying "Give me a car engine and I'll drive the car".

If you choose to learn how to program you have several language options where they all range from programming small games to bigger games but the difficulty also varies alot.

I've started learning C++ from the start, C++ is the most used language for proper games in the game industry but its also one of the very difficult languages to learn and it takes time to learn.