Sign in to follow this  
soitsthateasy

Console Game [C++]

soitsthateasy    100
I've been learning C++ for about 9 months and I want to start making a good console game. I'm thinking something along the lines of snake but I'm not so sure where to begin. I think I should have a board (2-d array?) with "@" as the walls. I should have a function for updating the board. I'll have "*" as the snake and "+" for the bits of food. Now for my problem. How do I handle user input given that it uses the arrow keys? I'm looking for all sorts of help here, I'll put up some code when I have it!!!

soitsthateasy    100
Having some trouble (already, Not Good!)
What I want to do is create a board, char board[20][20]; and fill it entirely.
If it's a border, I want it to be an '@' and everything else, a space.

I don't really want to hard-code it because it won't teach me anything and there should be a much easier way to do it. Is for loops for every single row the only way?

Also, How do I display a full array? Do I have to go through all that with the for loops for every row again?
Thanks!

Also, for readibility, should I use const chars for borders and spaces?

szecs    2990
It's very easy to implement: use a paper and a pen to figure it out, you won't learn, if you don't try to solve the very first complicated problem you encounter by yourself.

All these indexing/grid/hex-grid stuff are always very hard (work) to implement. You have to go through it for yourself, or you will never be able to do it.

I started to program a hexagonal-grid minesweeper 2 days ago, displaying the grid alone took me 2 hours to figure out. Panning an zooming the grid an other 2 hours (and maybe 5 sheets of A4 paper). Not to mention looping through the "neighbor" fields: about 3 hours. Despite that I had done a lot of grid stuff before this. And even a regular square grid minesweeper.

soitsthateasy    100