Sign in to follow this  
FlyingSolo

OpenGL SDL. would YOU recommend it ?

FlyingSolo    117
Hi folks, after quite a few problems with NeHe's basecode when resizing my opengl window on various different systems(esp Win7 grrrr) I had SDL recommended to me. It looks like a breeze to incorporate SDL and it's not only multi-platform but handles things like keyboard and mouse events too. However, development seems to be stalled from what I can see - which is a worry. 1.3 seems to be vaporware and I really don't like that it creates a DOS/Command window in addition to the main window. I'd be far happier going on the recommendation of people far more knowledgeable and experienced than me since I'm pretty new to opengl. All I'm looking for really is something that will handle the window management for me, the opengl is already pretty much complete. Opinions and advice greatly appreciated. Thanks.

nullsquared    126
Quote:
Original post by FlyingSolo
I really don't like that it creates a DOS/Command window in addition to the main window.

This has nothing to do with SDL, it depends on your project settings (whether it's a console or Win32 subsystem).

Quote:

All I'm looking for really is something that will handle the window management for me, the opengl is already pretty much complete.

SDL is great for this task:

SDL_GL_SetAttribute(SDL_GL_xxx, vvv); // set the OpenGL attributes like VSync, double buffer, etc.
SDL_SetVideoMode(640, 480, 32, SDL_OPENGL);

while (running)
{
SDL_Event evt;
while (SDL_PollEvent(&evt)) /* handle events */;

// render GL stuff
SDL_GL_SwapBuffers();
}

That's all it takes to get GL running with SDL.

You might also want to look into SFML, which is very similar.

zaneski13    104
SDL also runs in a tighter loop so its faster than the other predecessor window API's. It handles event for you, just use this code

SDL_Event event;

int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
while ( !quit )
{
while ( SDL_PollEvent(&event) )
{
if ( event.type == SDL_QUIT )