• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

how can i develop a simple game

This topic is 2930 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Good day eveyone, i've been tryin to get answers to this problem that i've got.the thing is i've got very little c++ programming knowledge and i want to develop a simple game like tetris but i don't know where or how to start neither do i know what kinda of tools i need.Secondly Is there a very very good book i can get and study that can show/teach me how to apply c++ programming in making simple games like this with illustrated examples in it as i continue to learn C++ progamming.Any advice wud be very very apreciated.thanks a ton.

Advertisement
You may want to do some simple games that run in command prompt first, to get a better grasp at the language. That will help you gain the knowledge required to think of where to start. When I started building a tetris clone in Java, I started it by building a class that basically maintained a multi-dimensional array of numbers. I used the numbers in a switch to determine what to output. I later though created a Box class which the array contained. I worked on having a single square fall at a looped time, and then having it stop when it reaches the bottom, or another stopped block.

My point is, take a bigger problem in steps.

Quote:
Original post by I Fuad I
try Allegro, good engine for beginning. and there are many tutorials :)

While I can't comment on whether Allegro is any good or not I just wanted clarify that Allegro isn't an engine any more than Direct3D is an engine.

All I can say, that every problem solving starts with a piece of paper and a pen.
The more time I spend here on the forums, the more I feel that most of the people don't know these tools at all.

Quote:
Original post by nobodynews
Quote: