Sign in to follow this  
h3ro

XNA - Render to texture

Hallo, I am very new to shaders and im trying to get started by writing a class that applies a blur shader to what ever sprite I send to it, but I am getting some un-expected results. The sprite is rendered correctly (no shader is applied), but from what I understand, the sprite should never show up as it is being rendered to a texture, and that texture is never added to the screen. Also, all the other sprites have now disappeared from the screen. (This sprite is the last to render) My spriteBatch.draw is like this: m_spriteBatch.Begin(SpriteBlendMode.AlphaBlend, SpriteSortMode.Immediate, SaveStateMode.None); My code that is causing problems: Rectangle spriteRect = m_sprite.getRect(); Texture2D texture = DataManager.Instance.getSprite(m_sprite.getSpriteID()); RenderTarget2D renderTarget = new RenderTarget2D(m_device, spriteRect.Width, spriteRect.Height, 1, m_format); Rectangle renderTargetRect = new Rectangle(0, 0, renderTarget.Width, renderTarget.Height); m_device.SetRenderTarget(0, renderTarget); m_render.getSpriteBatch().Draw(texture, renderTargetRect, spriteRect, Color.White); m_device.SetRenderTarget(0, null); Regards,

It's a bit of a guess, but you probably want to Begin() and End() your spritebatch while you're rendering to your target. Something like this:

m_device.SetRenderTarget(0, renderTarget);
m_render.getSpriteBatch().Begin(SpriteBlendMode.AlphaBlend, SpriteSortMode.Immediate, SaveStateMode.None);
m_render.getSpriteBatch().Draw(texture, renderTargetRect, spriteRect, Color.White);
m_render.getSpriteBatch().End();
m_device.SetRenderTarget(0, null);

You were correct, I needed to change where I did my begin/end calls.

I still have the problem of everything else disappearing though. Any ideas what that might be?

// Get the data from the sprite
Rectangle spriteRect = m_sprite.getRect();
Texture2D texture = DataManager.Instance.getSprite(m_sprite.getSpriteID());