Sign in to follow this  
blueshogun96

Coin-op game dev

I've been thinking of this quite a bit in my spare time. How does one usually go about with Coin-op game development? Or should I say "Arcade" games? It's amazing how little information on this can be found on the net. Do I have to buy or get licencing from a hardware manufacturer to develop the game on? Or could I just design my own hardware, PCBs and cabinets? Also, if I do end up designing hardware from scratch, will it be legal to sell my cabinets? More about myself. I'm not a noob to hardware level programming (i.e. assembly, programming VGA compatible video cards directly, etc), but I am a noob to hardware development and design. What I have done is bought a book by Andre Lamothe himself and plan to learn about video game hardware implementations and game console design before I take on such a project. Then make a few simple arcade games with simple graphics to start off with. In the meantime, I like to go online and learn about how other arcade machines work on websites such as System 16. Another idea I had that appears to be more common with newer arcade machines is using PC similar hardware. So I was thinking maybe get something simple such as an older Pentium processor (P6 maybe?) on a well documented mother board using a Creative Soundblaster or Realtek AC'96 for basic audio (those audio chipsets are well documented), and maybe an NVxx GPU manufactured by NVIDIA, an openly documented ATI card or an old 3Dfx Voodoo card. 3Dfx Voodoo cards up to the 3 series are well documented and are easy to program for. NVIDIA cards are a different story. I do have experience with many NVIDIA card register sets (mainly NVxx series). Every NVIDIA card has registers that are common with all other NVIDIA cards (I can't say this for the Gxx GPUs though), so programming the GeForce 3 is almost the same as programming the GeForce 6. Also, I do understand that the NVIDIA Corporation will not easily release the specificati