Code Design: Object deleted before higher code is completely finished with it

Started by
13 comments, last by Kylotan 14 years, 1 month ago
I've been running into this design problem for a while, and it has been bugging me. I am posting it here in the hope that it will finally be resolved.

CClass *objects[MAX_OBJECTS];

void Foo()
{
	for (int i = 0; i < MAX_OBJECTS; i++)
	{
		if (objects != NULL)
		{
			Bar(i);
			objects->A();
		}
	}
}

At some point in Bar(), the object #i may be deleted. If this happens, everything after Bar() that tries to access object #i will fail. I know multiple ways that this can be solved. However, because I am relatively new to code design and OOP, I don't know if there is a standard/common/best solution. I could choose one of my solutions at random, but I would rather learn what the "proper" solution is, if such a thing exists. I have not posted my own solutions here because I don't want to accidentally influence responses. If requested, I can provide my thoughts on the matter. Please note that I am looking for an abstract solution. If the solution for this problem is dependent on the exact situation, please let me know and I will give a specific situation in which this problem is occurring.
Advertisement
Rather than deleting the object directly within Bar(), consider adding it to a 'destroy list'. At the end of Foo(), you can go through the destroy list and delete all the objects therein - by that point, nobody else will need them.

Tristam MacDonald. Ex-BigTech Software Engineer. Future farmer. [https://trist.am]

Thank you for the quick reply.

Please don't consider this topic "solved" just yet though. I am hoping for multiple responses, and possibly a discussion of the issue.
The general-purpose design pattern is a deferred processing queue.