Game Designer Scripting

Started by
6 comments, last by DanoTaN 14 years ago
I will be graduating in May with a game design and development specialization. I have VERY little knowledge about scripting, and would like to learn the basics. Can anyone suggest any Scripting for Dummies type material?(Books, websites, dvds, etc.) I don't plan on diving too deep into any specific language until I speak with my future employer, whomever that may be. I would just like to get a solid grasp of scripting on a basic, game designer level. Also, is there a specific language that is being used significantly more than others these days? Thank you for your time! Timothy J. Holman
Advertisement
You are going to have trouble getting a job that involves scripting without knowing the language for which you will be using, at least that's what it is like here in the Bay Area. I think a great way of getting into scripting is actually writing a WoW plugin if you have the resources. There is quite a large community around it and lots of people willing to help. Once you get that down i have a feeling you will understand lua scripting better, and that is a nice thing to have.

Other then that, showing people what you have done in scripting languages is important.

I also heard my video post about lua explains a lot.

http://deadbeefgames.com/blog/?p=26

------------------------------

redwoodpixel.com

Thank you Joe, I'm definitely gonna look into lua. Also, I've been using Unity 3D and I've learned some very basic stuff about &#106avascript. Is that commonly being used in the industry right now?<br><br>Timothy J. Holman
I have never heard of &#106avascript being used in a game that was not entirerly browser based.