Sign in to follow this  

How best to implement collision detection and other features object 'orientatedly'?

This topic is 2846 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all, First time poster so be kind. Hope this is in the right place. I'm a newbish game programmer who's done a bit of programming in the past, mainly at university (with C). However, I'm rather new to object oriented programming having chosen C# and XNA for my game programming needs. I've completed Riemer's 2D tutorial, which is a basic Worms sort of game (stationary user controlled cannons, change trajectory and power of cannon to destroy other cannons). The tutorial did everything in the one final, which does make it hard to expand on the code, so now that I'm done with it, I've made a SpriteManager class, terrain generator class as well as a rocket and cannon class to break it down. Now I'm up to collision detection and I'm not sure how to go about. I've got all the methods required, so I can implement but what's the best/neatest way to do so? One option is creating a class/file with all (4) the collision detection methods in it, however as I'm using a ton of variables from my sprite manager/rocket/cannon/terrain classes the obvious drawback is that any change in my other files will mean I'll have to update my collision detection file. Another approach is to have a method in my terrain and cannon classes that check to see if there's a collision with the rocket (passing in the rocket object), while having any coll dect methods that both classes use either in my sprite manager or separate collision detection file. So, all up I'm not sure which of the above implementations to employ, or a different method altogether? Also, I'd imagine there's be some books/tutorials which tackle these type of issues - can anybody give some examples of such? Sorry for the overly