Sign in to follow this  

Printing a String Backwards in Recursion?

This topic is 2846 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, im messing around with recursion a little bit and I had a class assignment to do a factorial command using recursion. I got that figured out but then I started to think and wonder if i could print out a string backwards using recursion? I looked on the internet at a couple of examples of people doing it but I can't seem to wrap my ahead around what is actually going on. This is my first year in computer science so I'm not very good at coding yet but I really want to get a hold of recursion before it gets a hold of me :P If anyone has any ideas how I could use recursion to print a string backwards that would be cool to know :) Thanks!

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

void printStringBackwards(const std::string& str, unsigned int idx = 0)
{
if( idx < str.length() )
printStringBackwards(str, idx + 1);
else
return;

std::cout << str[idx];
}

int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
printStringBackwards(std::string("Hello, World!"));
return 0;
}

That should work in C++. You could do optimizations etc., but it's a simple example. Basically you want to go from the last character from the first character. So essentially we make use of the call stack by calling the function recursively if we haven't reached the end of the string. If we did reach the end, then we return to the previous call which continues at the output statement.

It's really quite simple. Recursion can be powerful when used correctly. I don't recommend you use it in this instance. An iterative solution would be much preferred.

Quote:
Original post by Halifax2
*** Source Snippet Removed ***