Sign in to follow this  

Trying to make a 3D platformer, but don't know where to start.

This topic is 2850 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all. I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to the 3D engine scene, and I used to use a program called "3D Game Studio" by Conitec. It wasn't free, and used DirectX. I frown upon using DirectX, and I perfer OpenGL (my 64bit AMD64 computer setup loves OpenGL, it can get some really high frame rates!). I have looked at APOCALYX, a 3D OpenGL engine using Lua, but it seems the user community is dead and I don't want to use something that has no supporters. I thought I'd like to make a platformer game, featuring my website mascot, when she's been converted into 3D format. Before you ask "what is the platformer you ask", I'm talking about a 3D platformer like New Super Mario Bros on the Wii and related consoles. Crash Bandicoot is another example, I've attached some screenshots to help aid you to get an idea as to what I mean: http://image.com.com/gamespot/images/2009/292/960544_20091020_screen004.jpg This is a screenshot from New Super Mario Bros Wii. As you can see, it's a 2D Platformer, but Mario, the guy in the white and red outfit with a ball of fire is actually 3D. So, it's like 2.5D. The fish are also 3D Models. Crash Bandicoot is 3D with a twist, instead of left and right scrolling, parts of the screen are up and down scrolling: http://ui09.gamefaqs.com/1704/gfs_10923_2_2.jpg http://ui22.gamefaqs.com/1205/gfs_10923_2_16.jpg The latter image of Crash Bandicoot is what I'm trying to achieve. A 3D Platformer, however you're stuck with 2D controls (Left and Right movement only, etc). The game I'm prototyping is something like Super Smash Bros Melee's Adventure Mode (for people who have ever played that game). Can someone point me to a step by step guide or a engine with a GUI that can hel