Sign in to follow this  

can openGL be used for animation...and what is SDL ???

This topic is 2846 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi guys , i'm totally new to this site and ofcourse new to openGL programing(u can tell by the subject). I am comfortable with C/C++ programming. I want to concentrate in 3d animation. I know most of u guys are into game programming. But I am more in or animation and art (plese dont kick my ass). I am currently at my junior year and im studying computer science and engineering. I am totally new to the graphics stuffs. I am more into designing and art. By that I mean I am not aiming for game programming...I am more into animations and 3d graphic designing. I want to do a masters on visualization. I am already into photoshop n maya. But I do not want to leave my programming knowledge behind. Everyone is saying that openGL is dead.I am really confused. And also would you guys please tell the "actual" difference between softwares like maya and the programming languages such as openGL. I know they are different but what are the different applications. Is animation done by openGL? Y do ppl keep saying taht openGL is not good enough. If it's dead what should I learn? what should i satrt off by ?? Please HELP !!!!

I wouldn't say OpenGL is dead, although it shouldn't ignore the fast growing DirectX API. For learning purposes, OpenGL is still great. And you can still make an AA game with it as well.

Anyway, yes you can do animations with OpenGL or DirectX. But, they are not integrated by default. If you start searching for animation or bone functions in OpenGL, you will find none. Doing animations is all about applying matrix or quaternion transformations on a 3D mesh. Pretty difficult stuff, I'll warn you. I've spend the last 3 weeks fighting with it :)