Sign in to follow this  

Getting Back into C++

This topic is 2849 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Morning/afternoon/evening I have been programming games now for about 2 years in C# with XNA and I'm looking to get back into C++. I used to program in C++ with Direct X 9.0 and I have a book "Programming role-playing Games with DirectX" in C++ however this is out of date I think. I Really want to get back into programming in C++ and im following another book on the basics at the moment. My Ultimate aims for games are to make either a RTS type game or a Roleplaying game in 3D. What I want to know is: Q/ What's the best tool for creating games like this? I Have heard of Ogre3D, Allegro, OpenGL being used for creating windows with a linked graphics device but I'm not to sure about them. any help is appreciated :)

Ogre is an excellent object-oriented engine. It does not use cosmic hierachies for the scene graph and it makes good use of design patterns. You will learn alot about C++ and OO by using it. Reading books by Herb Sutter is also a great way to learn good C++ progamming.

Ok, I now remember I tried Ogre and gave up. three days and I couldn't even get it to compile.

There are 66 linker errors and I have made sure I am linking every thing I need to, been on 6 tutorials on the net and followed the instructions and it WONT work :(

I have downloaded a SDK. Sorry if I get jargon wrong :)

I downloaded the SDK for VS2008 (or somthing)

installed it, and followed some tutorials for getting an example application running.

now, when I run the one off the Wiki I get 66 Linker errors. (I think from missing dlls)

hah~
C# do not need to link library by configuring the project, but C++ do.

I'm not using Visual Studio English version right now. So some terms might be wrong, but I think you can understand my poor English. :)