Sign in to follow this  

Level Format Design: Appreciate Feedback

This topic is 2843 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello , I am a programmer making my own small engine for game development. Eventually it will be [almost] usable. Right now Im creating the level system and I'm wondering if should go with: 1. Text File: Pro: easy to develop Con: Relys on Standard Data Files [images , etc] provided with game. 2 Zip: Pro: Contains all resources needed for level [music , object coordinates] easly create content Con: Large file size I would also like to know is implementing a scripting engine like python useful , if it is: is it easy to implement with a separate engine ? And do you have any tips for doing so ? Thanks A Novice Developer

I have never worked on a game engine it self, but i know how it is implemented, I have also played around with a lot of engines.
I would say use zip files. Think form a users point of view. There is nothing better than dragging and dropping a resource file into a directory. I understand your concern about dealing with huge bulk files though.
It really is design decision. Or even better allow both.
ev

Those are really different questions, you're comparing apples and oranges, though they are similar they are also different, let's break it down:

Text-files versus binary: text files are easy to hand-edit and read, but harder to parse. What it really comes down to is do you need to hand-edit them?

Pack level specific data or rely on already distributed content: This is less of a problem if you use some kind of vfs. In my current game I mount each levelfile(zip archive) to the vfs and loaded a common, recently mounted, binary level file. Using this technique it can reference both the common or level specific files in the same way.

Quote:
Original post by jopy