Sign in to follow this  

Game overlay

This topic is 2845 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all! I've been searching through the forum and found some useful answers about what I want to do. But, all of them does not totally satisfy my needs (mainly because they all seems out of date). I'm looking to do some overlay on top of full screen games. I want to display information (1 to 3 small lines at maximum) on the player's screen for 4 or 5 seconds and then disappear. I'm a senior developer (mainly in the .net world) with a strong background in C and C++ but with no game development knowledge at all :'-( I've already installed the latest DirectX SDK on my system. Any hints to how can I achieve this are welcome. Even if a complete library to do overlay will be useful, I want to understand the overall process of doing overlay. Thanks a lot in advance, Ezrille

The way this is usually done is by hooking the calls the game uses for rendering, and drawing your own stuff just after the game finishes. The exact functions you hook will depend on the API the game uses (Usually Direct3D or OpenGL, assuming a 3D game).

With Direct3D, one method is to create a proxy DLL. This is a DLL which you name d3d9.dll (Assuming D3D9), and exports a function called Direct3DCreate9(). When that function is called, you should load the real d3d9.dll from the system directory, call the real Direct3DCreate9 to create an IDirect3DDevice9 object, and then return an interface derived from IDirect3D9, where each function in it except CreateDevice() just calls the "real" function.

Your CreateDevice() function should behave in a similar way; it should call the "real" CreateDevice() to get a real device pointer, and all functions except those you're interested in should just call the real version of the function.