Sign in to follow this  

[java] Game similar to Risk

This topic is 2843 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, I want to make a game similar to Risk. However, I still have no idea how to make each land as a click-able button. I know how to draw the map using pgdraw import. I am fairly new to java and am still learning new things everyday. However, before I start the project, I want to have everything planned out. So currently I do not know how to make say a hexagon shape drawn using pgdraw in to an object that is click-able. Perhaps there is another way to make a map as well? Anyone know what I need/know to do this type of game. I realize its not an over night process, so its not one of those new ideas that burns up in a few days, I have been thinking about this game for a long time now and been studying programming for 2 years now. Last year I learned Visual Basic, this year learning Java, but our curriculum doesn't cover everything I wish it would especially the graphics part, which is why I am here. :D

You need to take care of click detection. If you are drawing your map to a JPanel you then put a MouseListener attached to that panel and map the mouse coordinates to where on the map the player may have clicked. If you want a real risk style map then one option is to colour each land mass differently and check the mouse coordinates against colour. Or you could create an internal set of coordinates for each area and check bounds. A third option is to use something like InkScape to create an SVG file that you can then load. Since SVG files are vector graphics you could load each land mass as a java.awt.Shape object(such as GeneralPath) then call Shape.contains(x, y) on the mouse. The third option is the hardest to implement since you would have to find or write a loader for SVG files that convert to the Java Shape interface.