Sign in to follow this  
Nethfel

sdl_net udp_bind question...

Hi all, I'm hoping someone could point me to something I've yet to find :(... Basically, I've found quite a few tutorials and sample programs when it comes to base TCP connections and base UDP connections - and they've been tremendously helpful. I was wondering if anyone knew of any tutorials or commented sample source that uses the sdlnet_udp_bind. I did look at the sample code, and it does make sense to a point, but I was hoping to see maybe a sample chat client/server that utilizes the bind functionality with the ability to have multiple clients connect simultaneously ('m not talking multiple chat rooms or anything like that, just a general single space with channel binds so maybe I can understand a bit more how binding works on both client and server side)

I was a super noob too... :(
I know SDL_net is very hard to find tutorial and tutorial are useless--I have experience...
You can make modify on this code:
http://gpwiki.org/index.php/SDL:Tutorial:Using_SDL_net
I believe you have read this...
Now I tell you how I write the code,this is a pseudo code of chatting server.(Don't know if this is noob way):

Client:
1.Open a usable port. If 65535 not works,use 65534,then use 65533 and so on.(Don't know if this is good way.)
2.resolve host,the port in SDLNet_ResolveHost must same as port that server opened,and host too.
3.send packet, packet data is 12345(Do it with SDlNet_Write16())
4.wait a packet that data is 54321,if cannot recieve,go back to step 3.(avoid data-loss)
5.send the port that you using to server(You have to record the port in step 1)
6.chat
7.close connection

Server:
1.Open a port
2.wait for packet
3.receive packet
4.if packet data is 12345,change to reading mode{
5.wait for packet that data is a port
6.resolve host(Name:test[client_num] Host:NULL port:Use what client sent)
7.SDLNet_UDP_Bind(socket, client_num, test[client_num]); client_num++;