Sign in to follow this  
ctj

Problems installing DirectX app on to another computer

Please ignore my previous thread, I forgot to put a Subject to it. I am a beginner in programming C++ using DirectX and I have a problem in installing a C++ program with DirectX onto a different computer. I wrote a simple DirectX program to create an empty window. I am using Visual Studio 2010 to create the installation package: 1. I first create a Merge Module Add->Project Output... Select Primary Output Add->Merge Module Reference... Select Microsoft_VC90_ATL_x86.msm Microsoft_VC90_CRT_x86.msm Microsoft_VC100_ATL_x86.msm Microsoft_VC100_CRT_x86.msm 2. I create a Setup Deployment Project Add->Project Output... Select MergeModule Open Meerge Module File Installation Properties Select Application Folder as the value of KeyOutput->(MergeModuleProperties)->Module Retargetable Folder Add->File... Select DirectX 9c runtime (obtained from Microsoft DirectX download site) Add->File... Select vcredist_x86 (obtained from Microsoft Visual Studio download site) Right click on the Setup Deployment Project->View->Custom Actions Right click on Install->Add Custom Action... Double click Application Folder and select dxsetup.exe Repeat above and select vcredist_x86.exe Open dxsetup.exe properties and enter /silent on Arguments Repeat the same for vcredist_x86.exe I built the Deployment Projects and it generated the Windows Installer Package for my test program. I install the package on my development machine and my test program runs without error. However, when I install the package on another machine, the test program returns with an error. What other files do I need to include when building? Can someone give me some pointers? Thanks.