Sign in to follow this  
the_edd

'Standard' way of returning GPGPU calculations?

In the absence of CUDA and OpenCL, and accepting the hit in accuracy that conversions between floating point formats might produce along the way, what's the best way to return floating point GPU calculations to CPU land? "Best" meaning requiring the smallest number of widely available GL extensions. I'd be particularly interested in methods that work on both Windows and OS X. Apologies for the somewhat woolly question, I'm new to this :)

Quote:
Original post by Erik Rufelt
Rendering into/reading from a floating point texture could work well, depending on what you want to do.

Some specific things I'd like to try are numeric integration and collision tests.

So I was thinking of bundling the data in to one or more textures, rendering a quad that covers the "screen" such that each texel corresponds to a fragment. Then use the fragment shader to actually perform the per-texel work item.

So I'd need to look at rendering to a texture, or copying the framebuffer to a floating point texture afterwards.

Does that all sound about right?

Yes, that all sounds about right. However, a word of caution: Having done GPGPU through both OpenGL and CUDA, let me say that the pain of using the former is extreme. Additionally, the available feature-set is reduced. If you choose not to use the standard GPGPU libraries out there, you will get less done, and your results will be less impressive.

Quote:
Original post by Sneftel
Yes, that all sounds about right. However, a word of caution: Having done GPGPU through both OpenGL and CUDA, let me say that the pain of using the former is extreme. Additionally, the available feature-set is reduced. If you choose not to use the standard GPGPU libraries out there, you will get less done, and your results will be less impressive.