Sign in to follow this  
nullptr

[DX9] texture lockrect returns bad pointer

Hello all, I am quite new to d3d programming and I was wondering if anyone knows the circumstances under which a call to lockrect can return a bad pointer. I am using a dynamic (default pool, usage dynamic) font texture I am updating when needed; this usually works fine, but on some old nvidia cards the call succeeds but a bad pointer is returned and the following memcpy fails. I suppose the texture has been swapped through the agp bus but I guess the driver should take care of keeping data alive. Unfortunately updating the driver is not an option, the latest releases are several years old. Has anyone experienced anything similar? How could I take control of this situation? Forgot to say I am running Windows XP Pro. Thanks for any help you may provide.

Thanks for your reply but... from the docs:

Keep the following things in mind when working with dynamic textures.

They cannot be managed. For example, their pool cannot be D3DPOOL_MANAGED.
Dynamic textures can be locked, even if they are created in D3DPOOL_DEFAULT.
D3DLOCK_DISCARD is a valid lock flag for dynamic textures.

Anyway I am checking all return codes, in this case I get S_OK.

What flags are you locking with?
Is there any multithreading going on?
Is there any chance that you could be locking the texture twice, or unlocking it before the memcpy()?
Do the Debug Runtimes say anything?
What value is the bad pointer? Is it null, 0xcccccccc, or some other "pattern" address?
When you say "memcpy() fails", do you mean it causes an access violation?
Are you sure you're not writing too much data in (I.e. causing a buffer overflow)?
Have you tried using the reference rasterizer?

Thanks Steve,

I've tried locking a sub-region alternatively with 0, nosyslock, nosyslock | nodirtyupdate; doesn't seem to make any difference.