Sign in to follow this  

Image Rendering

This topic is 2837 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello I am new to game programming and wanted some advice on image rendering... basically i am working on a 2D game...my screen size is 480*256...i have to set the background of my game with sky and clouds...for that i have taken a image of size 480*256...and rendering it 10 times one-below the other...as my game would scroll top-down with the background as sky image... I do not think rendering the same image one-below the other multiple times is a good option..Please advice on this and is there any better option to do so... Any suggestion would be of great help...

Hi Anup,

So you have a top-down 2D game and you wish the background to continually smooth scroll as the player moves.

You do not specify a language or API, so I will just talk about the theory aspect.

Consider your background image. It is 480x256. Let's say you have the background scrolling from top to bottom so it looks a like a stationary sprite is moving up. At any one time your screen's y distance will be a constant 256. Also, since you wish your background image to repeat you will have to render 2 sections of the background.