Sign in to follow this  
repka3

Equipping armor/weapon

Hi all, first let me explain the nature of question: I'm working in a little (little, little) 3d engine based on directx 9 for learning something about 3d programming. I'm a total noob and for now i've implemented this few things: 1)terrain from heightmap, 3 blended texture (grass, dirt,mountains) using shader. 2)skinned mesh loading (i made my own model using 3ds max and bone system) with animations jump,attack,running and idle. (vertex blending, lighting,texturing done in vertex/pixel shader) 3)load some static mesh for environment purpose (a little cartoonish house and some tree) Now the question is, suppose you have modelled a weapon like sword and you want "equip" that and following the animation of attack. How to ? :) I need just some advice in logical workflow.. Thx who will answer. bye.

I think this is one of the things scene graphs are good for.
It's the concept of different coordinate systems, you have world space, model space, etc. So if you want to have the sword follow the hand then you have to define the sword's position and rotation defined in terms of a coordinate space whose origin is a point on the hand.

My linear algebra is really rusty since I haven't touched any graphics code for a while, but I think the transforms from the hand space to world space would look something like this:

SwordVertexInHandSpace * HandToModelSpace * ModelToWorldSpace

Like I said before, you could look at scene graphs to do this kind of thing.

I hope this was a least a little helpful lol,
mikfig

The trick is to attach an equiped model to a bone. Well, when you do bone animation, you will determine your animation frame, put all bones in position and apply a skin_to_bone transformation.
Each bone is represented by an transformation, so we could just take a final bone transformation WITHOUT the skin_to_bone transformation.