Sign in to follow this  
GodFear

SetTexture() method Enquiry

Hello Folks! My first post and a pleasant day to everyone. I'm very new to directx and i do have a couple of questions and i hope someone can enlighten me about it. I understand that defining different textures with a call to SetTexture() can be very expensive. However, if say i repeatedly call SetTexture() but refer to the same texture object, will directx be smart enough to realize i am setting the same texture and it will not process the succeeding calls anymore? I want to use ID3DXSPRITE to draw 2D and on its Draw() method, one of the parameters is a pointer to the texture object i want to use. I believe it internally calls SetTexture() to set the texture object i passed as parameter to Draw() method. If i repeatedly call Draw() but set the same texture object, will ID3DXSPRITE repeatedly call SetTexture() as well? Thank you very much! EDIT: I am using directx 9.0c btw :)

Quote:
Original post by GodFear
I understand that defining different textures with a call to SetTexture() can be very expensive. However, if say i repeatedly call SetTexture() but refer to the same texture object, will directx be smart enough to realize i am setting the same texture and it will not process the succeeding calls anymore?
With a device created without the D3DCREATE_PUREDEVICE flag: Yes. If you create a pure-device, it still makes a call to the drvier, but the driver should still filter it out unless it's completely braindead.

Quote:
Original post by GodFear
I want to use ID3DXSPRITE to draw 2D and on its Draw() method, one of the parameters is a pointer to the texture object i want to use. I believe it internally calls SetTexture() to set the texture object i passed as parameter to Draw() method. If i repeatedly call Draw() but set the same texture object, will ID3DXSPRITE repeatedly call SetTexture() as well?