Game Connection My Experience as an Indie Developer

Started by
3 comments, last by Carradine 14 years ago
I wanted to write up my experiences about Game Connection for other Indie Developers since I could not find any clear information about experiences at Game Connection on the web, and wanted to give other people an idea what it is about, and whether it is useful for them or not. My name is Chris Allar, I am a developer who has been working on my game on and off for over 8 years now, and it is finally in a complete “single-player” state. I attended Game Connection to attempt to look for funding/publisher to sell the game as is, or to possibly continue development into a MMO, in which the entire framework of the game is designed to be converted to. You can check out information about the game or download the game at http://www.crystaldragon.com The game is called Vantage: Prehistoric Simulation Game. It’s a game where you play a prehistoric caveman, and you have the ultimate objective: to stay alive! You attempt to create fires, spear hunt animals and forage for food to survive. What is Game Connection? Website: http://www.game-connection.com/ Game Connection is a mini-expo that runs approximately at the same time as GDC, and at the same location. This year it started on a Monday and ran for three days (GDC started Tuesday). Game Connection’s seems to purely be a top-level business meeting event. The way it works is that you list yourself as a buyer or seller (buyers get in for much cheaper, but I will talk about that later ), then you access the Game Connection website. There you see a full list of all buyers and sellers, and you request meetings with other companies who offer the services you are looking for. The meetings take place in 30 minute intervals back to back. It’s a form of “speed dating” but in a purely high-end business deals fashion. If companies accept your meeting invitation, you have 30 minutes to talk with them and pitch your game/service, then