Sign in to follow this  
numegil

How to divide work between an Indie team?

numegil    142
Hi, I'm currently a college student majoring in CS, and am looking to possibly get into indie game development as a hobby of sorts. I have several friends from high school who are also good at programming, and whom I would be glad to work with. I'm probably going to end up forming a team of sorts to work on creating a few games over the course of the summer, probably for the iPhone/iPad platforms. My question, however, is how can one efficiently distribute the work among the members of the team? This is obviously a no-brainer if you have a dedicated programmer, artist, storyline person, etc. But what if you have multiple programmers? How can it be possible for them to work on the same project simultaneously when their code depends on one another? I have a small amount of experience from like 2 years ago when me and my friend worked on programming a game for an English project. The efficiency was terrible, we basically had to take turns working on the game because it was impossible for both of us to work on it at the same time. So what are some ways that real indie programming teams divide up the work between themselves in an efficient manner? Thanks! -Numegil

TheBuzzSaw    143
It really depends on the phase of the project. I know from my current project that you rotate between two states: working on totally separate modules (awesome) and working on the exact same module (difficult). There are times where you have to resolve one piece together (or sit and wait until the one responsible finishes dealing with it).