Sign in to follow this  
jjens

OpenGL Help with OpenGL model coordinates

Preface: I'm extremely new to OpenGL so please bear with me. I just signed on for some contract work on an open source project. The majority of my work is C++, which I know, but some of it revolves around OpenGL rendering, which I don't (using GLUT and GLUI). The program allows the user to take a 3d model and rotate, zoom, etc. It allows the user to click on the model and create a point, then click again and get the distance between the two points in 3D space. Right now this works by using the buffer to find the closest triangle to the click, then placing a dot in the exact center of that triangle. The problem with this is that although it's a very close approximation, it's not exact. It also doesn't allow someone to have two dots in the same triangle. So, I need a way to translate a click in one coordinate system (0,0 to x, x) to the model coordinate system (the standard +/- X, +/- Y, +/- Z system). This is similar to a thread currently on the front page about drawing a line "straight back". I'll still be finding the closest triangle, but using the x, y of the mouse click to draw straight back to the model and place a dot at the point of intersection on that nearest triangle. I guess my first question is whether this is easy or complicated? It's tough not knowing what you don't know. :P Any help or points in the right direction is appreciated.

Quote:
Right now this works by using the buffer to find the closest triangle to the click, then placing a dot in the exact center of that triangle.
To what buffer are you referring?
Quote:
The problem with this is that although it's a very close approximation, it's not exact. It also doesn't allow someone to have two dots in the same triangle.