Sign in to follow this  
GoodFun

[SlimDX] Problem creating many large textures in DirectX 10

GoodFun    218
Hi there, I come to you guys again with a fairly crazy issue... my project is always teetering on the insane and this one isn't any different... first of all, it's not a game and it's not for public consumption (at least not directly). First, this is the hardware it's going to run on: Dual Quad Core Nehalem 5550 2.66GHz 48GB Ram eVGA GTS 250 1GB Supercharged So, here is my dilemma... I need to create daily textures for two years, i.e. 732 textures. They are all 4096 x 4096 in size and use R16_Float format. Texturesize per texture is 32 megs, total size needed about 23 gigs... now if I start creating those textures, I get an out of memory error after 56 textures. That is only 1792Megs and way below the available texture memory. I started playing around with the code a bit and checked different texture sizes. Doing that I found that if the textures are 16 megs each, I can easily create 732 textures, I can even create double as many, i.e. 1464 without the software running out of memory... This leads me to believe that there might be an issue in the nVidia driver with textures that are larger than 16 megs. If I absolutely have to, I can use two textures of 4096 x 2048 but I'm worried that I might see some artifacts at the seam between the two, i.e. uneven smoothing. I was wondering if any of you have had issues creating large numbers of large size textures in DirectX 10... or if you guys are aware of any such limitation... btw, I'm using C# 2008, SlimDX March 2009, DirectX SDK March 2009 and DirectX 10. Here is a small code sample that shows the problem:
using SlimDX;
using D3D10 = SlimDX.Direct3D10;
using DXGI = SlimDX.DXGI;

struct TextureContainer
{
    public D3D10.Texture2D texture;
    public D3D10.ShaderResourceView textureView;
}

private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{