Indie / Amateur MMORPG, where are they?

Started by
24 comments, last by Valmond 14 years ago
Hi everybody I'm a senior game dev, and as I have some time to kill I'm working on a little online RPG, *cough* MMORPG. Anyway I'm very interested in a very small part of the video game industry, namely the "indie/amateur mmorpg":s. For me, at least in this "research", it boils down to one or a couple of guys (except Suvi who's a girl) and no million bucks funding. Up to date this is what I have found: [Edited] 3D: Eternal Lands by Radu Privantu 2003 Gekkeiju Online by Coolhouse (Suvi) 2003 Minions of Mirth by Prairie games (don't know the name of the guy) 2005 Xenimus by ejthayer(his gamedev.net forum name) 2004 Wurm Online by Rolf Jansson and Markus Persson 2003-2006 Love [www.quelsolaar.com] by Eskil Steenberg 2009? 2D: Haven & Hearth and maybe: A tale in the desert eGenesis/MDO Games (Andrew Tepper?) 2003 Golemizer (2D / semi-realtime) Dawntide Regnum (www.regnumonline.com.ar) Minecraft(alpha version) by Markus Persson 2009 <-seems to be "just" multiplayer at the moment Do you know of any others? Also yeah, an MMORPG for some people is a web game (been there done that) but what I'm looking for is a realtime 3D game with a persistent world (you know what I mean). Do you know any other successful launches? [Edits] Off course Prairie games didn't launch Eternal Lands, they were enough busy with Minions of Mirth. Sorry for that really big typo *shrugs*. [Edited by - Valmond on April 10, 2010 4:33:36 AM]
Advertisement
I think they are generally not made by indies has to do with the fact that they are usually very expensive to develop and upkeep. Both from a time and capital perspective.
I wrote one, its called Xenimus

www.xenimus.com
God dammit, you are added to the list :-)

If you want to share some technical info about the game, like server spec, programming language, maximum connected players and so on, please do!
@way2lazy2care