Sign in to follow this  

Unity [C++] Exceptions using them right

This topic is 2792 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

EDIT: seems like some questions below are answered here as well: http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=569089 I'm fairly new with exceptions, I don't use them much myself but I'd like some advice :) 1. Is it generally a good idea to put a throw specifier in a function definition? Like: void f() throw(std::bad_alloc); void f() {} 2. I guess it is, does it also make sense to set the throw specifier for functions that do not throw anything? 3. What to do when in debug build there's more throws then in release mode? Or is this a malformed design? Like when a function does throw in debug mode, but doesn't in release mode. How would you define the function prototype? Dependent on whether its debug/release? 4. Should I catch memory / third-party-library exceptions, handle them correctly and re-throw it? Or catch them and then throw my own exception class instead? 5. There's a difference between logging, warnings, fixable errors (like, when input is incorrect it could take a default sometimes) or regular errors. Which are best to be thrown? For debug? For release? Where do you make a distinction, or do you also use a second method for error reporting then exceptions? I generally feel like exceptions produce quite a bit of bloat in the executable. Of course, for debug mode this is no problem. In debug mode we want to debug and thus good error reporting. In release I suppose only critical errors are relevant... Thanks for the input!

Quote:
Original post by Decrius
I'm fairly new with exceptions, I don't use them much myself but I'd like some advice :)
Use exceptions only in exceptional circumstances.
Quote: