Sign in to follow this  
bboysil

light map question

bboysil    108
I started studying the direct3d 9 API for more then 2 months and I have these questions about lightmaps: On MSDN library on the lightmaping with textures (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb174695%28VS.85%29.aspx) section it says: "If you implement light mapping using multipass texture blending, your application should render the light map onto its primitives on the first pass. It should use a second pass to render the base texture. The exception to this is specular light mapping. In that case, render the base texture first; then add the light map." A code example is given here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb147400%28VS.85%29.aspx Can someone confirm my understandings: Lighmaps are usually used for lighting detail on static objects from static lights and are precomputed, right? I imagine you could do some sort of "dynamic" light mapping by calculating the lightmap in realtime and applying the lightmap to the objects but when you say lightmaping you usualy mean the static one, right? Assuming MSDN is talking about the first case, and knowing that the specular reflection takes into account not only the light direction but also the camera position, my question is: How is the specular highlight in the MSDN example working if the lightmap is precomputed? I mean if you move the camera you expect the specular highlight to move a little or the result will be unrealistic. Is there something I'm missing? Or is the MSDN article actually referring to a dynamic light map or maybe a static scene where the lights and camera don't move? [Edited by - bboysil on April 24, 2010 7:21:55 AM]

bboysil    108
Someone pointed me to this page:

http://www.yaldex.com/game-programming/0131020099_ch17lev1sec2.html