Sign in to follow this  
Mathy

Hardware instancing shader not working as expected!

Hi there. I'm new to XNA, even though I have novice experience in MDX and SlimDX. Now, I've finally managed to understand how shaders basically work, and how to do hardware instancing, which is needed for one of my upcoming spare-time projects, where I have to render thousands of small triangles in different colors. Now, the game itself is being rendered in 3D, but I am setting a specific camera angle that makes the game look 2D (and all the triangles too). This by itself works pretty okay, but as soon as I start changing my triangles matrices to reposition them, they act all weird. Here you see a screenshot of my triangles when they all have a matrix of Matrix.Identity: http://testpreview.flamefusion.net/identity.png Now, this is a screenshot of my triangles when they all have a matrix of Matrix.Identity * Matrix.CreateTranslation(5,0,0): http://testpreview.flamefusion.net/matrixidentitytranslate.png On the first screenshot, it renders as I want it. On the second screenshot, I had in mind that the triangle (compared to how it looks now) instead should be indented a little bit to the right (since I increased the X coordinate). However, it does not. Instead, it kind of makes it 3-dimensional, and makes it follow the perspective. I have reason to believe that I am doing something wrong in the shader code. Therefore, I have pasted the code below:
float4x4 View; 
float4x4 Projection; 
float4x4 World; 

struct VertexShaderInput 
{ 
    float4 position : POSITION0; 
    float4 color : COLOR0; 
    //float3 Normal : NORMAL0; 
    float2 textureCoordinate : TEXCOORD0; 
}; 

struct VertexShaderOutput 
{ 
    float4 position : POSITION0; 
    float4 color : COLOR0; 
    float2 textureCoordinate : TEXCOORD0; 
}; 

// Vertex shader helper function shared between the different instancing techniques. 
VertexShaderOutput VertexShaderCommon(VertexShaderInput input, float4x4 instanceTransform) 
{