Sign in to follow this  
lucky6969b

Using the book Numerical Analysis

Hello all, [cross-posted on other site, sorry :)] I am a noob in math so please bear with me. Currently, I get hold of a book called "Numerical Analysis" by Richard L. Burden and J. Douglas Faires There is a compact disc that comes with the book. Inside the CD, there are a couple of directories, one to use C and the others like matlab and maple to solve mathematical problems The problem now is that I want to generate a geometrical function to encompass all the computations on pathfinding that involve path smoothing. The map is about 300x300 points wide, with quite dense of obstacles. If I throw 90000 points with accompanying booleans at matlab or the c program, will it or will it not generate a function that fits in and solve all smooth turning problems (x,y) that I want to calculate. I was originally looking for a catmull-rom curve generation function with less than 3 control points, but I thought that was impossible. The original algorithm also worths a mention, I am using incremental pathfinding method which I call it "do-and-forget" the points are calculated at real time on the fly. I also use brushfire algorithm (HAA*) and an annotated map for clearance on the map... Any chance matlab will do that for me without extra labour? Thanks Jack

I'm afraid that what you wrote isn't very clear at all. It sounds like you have a grid of 300 x 300 points (a heightfield?), and you want to cut holes in it to represent obstacles, then do pathfinding on the remaining set of points, using path smoothing to make a smooth path. And it sounds like with respect to the book, what you really want to know is if you give it a bunch of points can it find a smooth curve that fits through all the points. Is that approximately correct?