Sign in to follow this  
Zomgbie

2D Space shooter - Multiplayer experience

Hello fellow developers! Introduction My name is Robin, and i'm new to the game development world. I've always been intrested in programming, and i find it one of the most exciting features of life. The challenge to bring ideas to life and to overcome problems in new, awesome ways. Currently im wokring as a webdeveloper for a small company, and on my spare time i like to fidle around with diffrent languages, such as C or Cpp. After spending some time learing openGL i find it to be the right time to start with my very first Game Project! Before i start going through this i just want to tell you that it's not a revolutionary idea. It's not big. It's not huge. It's just small, and hopefully fun. What im looking for with this thread is an insight to the multiplayer part of my game. I want to know if you like the setup i have planned. So let's get started! Read this before reading more! I will split this thread up into two sections. The important stuff and the more deep stuff. The important stuff will be marked with strong characters so you can find them fast and easy. The deep stuff is just there if you want to know a little bit more of what im planning. Basic game design You're in space. Enemies fly down towards you, trying to attack you. You shoot enemies before they shoot you. When you killed enough, a wild boss appears! Kill boss, get some cool upgrades, and move on to the next level. This is the basic 2D shooter design. You get to face a few packs of enemies before hitting the big deal. I'm not really contributing anything to this part, seeing as i want to keep it basic and not too complicated. You start off with a normal ship and normal weapons. And the more you advance through out the game the better goodies you get. The multiplayer experience You can't win alone, you need friends, 2 friends to be exact. You choose the role of Tank, DPS or Healer. The tank is a big ship, with weak cannon