Sign in to follow this  
plywood

Which MySql tool to use

plywood    103
I need to download MySql to simply connect to an existing database (stored on a web server for which I have credentials) and to run scripts on it. I've always used MS SQL Server, and so I am new to MySql. After spending some 20 mins prodding around on MySql's website, and googling, I still can't seem to figure out which MySql tool to download here. There are four main products: (1) MySql Server (2) MySql Cluster (3) MySql Workbench (4) MySql Connections Based off what I was able to find, I figured MySql Workbench was the best tool to get the job done. They market it as a "GUI Tool" for database connectivity, which seemed to be all I needed. I figured MySqlServer probably did everything the Workbench does, but might be overkill. Workbench looked lightweight. I just downloaded/installed the Workbench, and it allows me to define/test connections the remote database, but I can't figure out how to *open* said connection and start running queries. And believe me, this is NOT a RTFM situation! I have been pouring over the docs and I have come to the belief that Workbench is more for visually designing databases, which I have no interest in. So.... If I can connect to a remote database and type in/execute queries in Workbench, please tell me how (really!). No menu options or client controls seem to indicate that it has this functionality. If I can't, then please tell me what tool I need to get the job done - I can't afford to download all four systems in search of the right functionality. All I need to do is to be able to: (1) Define connection string (2) Open a connection to the database (3) Run scripts *** Not interested in phpAdmin *** It is buggy and slow for what I need to do. Thanks for any feedback, ~ply

plywood    103
According to http://www.mysql.com/downloads/workbench/, Workbench is the replacement for the Query Browser...