[java] Getting a java applet to call php scripts?

Started by
3 comments, last by CodeMunkie 13 years, 11 months ago
Hi Guys, I used an Applet to make a racing car game. The game works pretty well. I want to now integrate it with Facebook and will need to call some of there API's. I am slightly familiar with PHP. Facebook supports 2 languages for there API officially. PHP and &#106avascript. There is a java API but its not official and I dnt know much about it. So to the question.(Guess its more of a design problem) Can applets work effectively to pass and receive data from php scripts. The php scripts will then interface with Facebook servers and my database. If there were 50 users playing the applet and calling these php scripts on the server should it be able to handle it? Would the design that I am thinking about seem feasible? Its my first attempt at web programming so apologies if I am way off. Thanks Set
Advertisement
I did something like this a long time ago, but it was pretty primitive. Basically the applet would attempt to open a local web-page with all of the data being passed in the url, and the php script would return a "web page" which contained data in an ascii format. There might be a cleaner way to do it, but that works. Here's the java code. Sorry about the formatting (or lack thereof).