I want to make a game by myself, what are all the tools I need to learn?

Started by
23 comments, last by Anri 13 years, 9 months ago
Aside from:

Programming
3D Program (in my case Blender)

Aside from those 2 things, I have no idea what else is essential to make a game, seeing as how I'm new to this.

I am currently learning C#, using XNA, but i'd also like to learn how to make games WITHOUT using XNA, so I am making games for stuff other than the 360.

Blender is going to be a bit difficult, seeing as how I am looking for a good set of video tutorials that show me practically everything.

But aside from those 2 things, what else do I need to learn to make a fully functional game, say like, a platformer such as Spyro? (minus the voice acting of course)
Advertisement
It's not about the tools, it's about the skills.

To directly answer your question...

A compiler/toolchain (i.e. Visual Studio)
A text editor to edit code (i.e. Visual Studio)
An image editor (i.e. Gimp or Photoshop)
A 3d modeling tool, assuming you're making a 3d game (i.e. Blender)
An audio editor (if making your own sound effects) (i.e. Audacity)

...and, thats about it.

The list of skills you'll need is a much larger list.

The forum FAQ should be a good place to start looking for more info.
Shoot Pixels Not People

It depends on what kind of game you wanna make and which platform will the game be on. If it will be a PC game then you could start with a open source engine like Ogre. It has a basic framework for a simple game.
Quote:Original post by Drakonite

A compiler/toolchain (i.e. Visual Studio)
A text editor to edit code (i.e. Visual Studio)
An image editor (i.e. Gimp or Photoshop)
A 3d modeling tool, assuming you're making a 3d game (i.e. Blender)
An audio editor (if making your own sound effects) (i.e. Audacity)

I Think he also needs DirectX. And, based on all of these he still needs to make a lot of other tools such as Exporter, UI Editor, Scene Editor, etc. ;)