• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
salvenger

What to use ?

This topic is 3088 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Should I use:
DirectX,
OpenGL,
Pygame (2D, with python of course [SDL]),
or
SDL (2D)?

2D or 3D?

I have no experience in 3D and decent in 2D.

C#, C++, Visual Basic, Python (with pygame), Java (with Java2D? JOGL?) as a language?

If 3D, please provide link(s) (if possible) to tutorials, docs, ect.

THANKS in advance ^^,
Salvenger

Advertisement
The honest choice really is up to you. The libraries listed above are all very capable (I'm guessing they are at least. There is a lot of talk about SDL but I've never been in touch with Pygame and it's rarely mentioned); the ultimate answer lies in the purpose or preference if circumstances allow.

You'll have to figure out the disadvantages and advantages of the libraries. Here's what I know (or think I know at least >.>) about DirectX and OpenGL.

If you don't like reading theories, don't read anything below this point ;]

Although I've never used either, there are a couple of obvious differences between the two: Mainly, DirectX is proprietary and OpenGL is open source. This means that DirectX is maintained by a regular team and it's constantly being updated to new standards whereas OpenGL is an open project for people. Frankly, there is a committee I believe that maintains OpenGL standards and whatnot, but I don't know how that works so forgive me if I'm missing anything.