• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
arithma

OpenGL A bunch of beginner questions

This topic is 2999 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So I'm new to the OpenGL world. I recently made an OpenGL ES 2.0 demo that worked on the now discontinued AMD emulator.
I ported it into OpenGL, and all shit ensued upon me.

The demo can be found here: download.

Questions follow:
- I am using freeglut + glew. The dlls are being packaged with the application. Is that the way to go?

- I wrote a shader that worked top notch for the OGLES demo. After I updated my graphics driver (now on [OGL 3.3] and [GLSL 3.3]), everything works fine. I can't test what happens when I have earlier versions of OGL and company. Is there a way to run an application in an earlier context for testing?

- On some machines, the shaders got compiling without a glitch, on others it spit out all sort of monstrous compiling errors. How can I make sure that the target platform matches the requirements? What can I do to make sure that the shaders I write are restricted to a certain language version?

- Is it possible, while although I put the line: #version 110 in the vertex and fragment shaders, that the compilation will still go wrong (though it ran well on my own machine)?

Advertisement
Disclaimer: I am by no means an OpenGL expert, shader programmer, or actually know anything about shaders, but I thought I'd reply anyway.

Quote:
- I am using freeglut + glew. The dlls are being packaged with the application. Is that the way to go?

Yes. You can either have them in the same directory as your applications binary, or somewhere else in the systems path (e.g. C:\Windows\System32).

Quote: