• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Antonym

OpenGL Error Creating Texture

This topic is 3086 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have two textures NeHe.bmp and Crate.bmp, the only difference I could notice between the two is that in photoshop (RGB/8) is appended to the name of Nehe.bmp while (Index) to Crate.bmp. I've used the following piece of code with both but I get an error at gluBuild2DMipmaps with Crate.bmp. I am new to OpenGL and loading textures and am trying to follow Nehe's Lesson 7 without rellying on glaux.

Any help is much appreciated.

bool NeHeLoadBitmap(LPTSTR szFileName, GLuint &texid) // Creates Texture From A Bitmap File
{
HBITMAP hBMP; // Handle Of The Bitmap
BITMAP BMP; // Bitmap Structure

glGenTextures(3, &texture[0]); // Create The Texture
hBMP=(HBITMAP)LoadImage(GetModuleHandle(NULL), szFileName, IMAGE_BITMAP, 0, 0, LR_CREATEDIBSECTION | LR_LOADFROMFILE );

if (!hBMP) // Does The Bitmap Exist?
return FALSE; // If Not Return False

GetObject(hBMP, sizeof(BMP), &BMP); // Get The Object
// hBMP: Handle To Graphics Object
// sizeof(BMP): Size Of Buffer For Object Information
// &BMP: Buffer For Object Information

glPixelStorei(GL_UNPACK_ALIGNMENT, 4); // Pixel Storage Mode (Word Alignment / 4 Bytes)

// Create Nearest Filtered Texture
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture[0]);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D,GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER,GL_NEAREST); // ( NEW )
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D,GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER,GL_NEAREST); // ( NEW )
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, 3, BMP.bmWidth, BMP.bmHeight, 0, GL_BGR_EXT, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, BMP.bmBits);

// Create Linear Filtered Texture
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture[1]);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D,GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER,GL_LINEAR);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D,GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER,GL_LINEAR);