• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
EuphoricRage470

Help! Frustrating beginning!

This topic is 2911 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, all. I'm new to the game development scene, but I am willing to invest myself obsessively to it.

I guess some background is necessary: I hail from the math community, spent my highschool years practicing my problem solving skills, learning upper level math for fun, and solving every "challenge" problem I could lay my hands on. So I entered Universtity thinking that I wanted to be a mathematician, and have learned and done more math than I ever dreamt I'd do. I, unfortunately, do not see my life revolving around proving theorems. (although I was rather pleased when I was able to submit a research result of mine, hopefully to be published)

So I took a programming course. An introductory one in which we didn't learn any hardcore languages or APIs (it was in Matlab), but I was in shock at how much I enjoyed solving problems of the algorithmic nature. I could get the computer to do whatever I wanted, and it really just came down to my cleverness.

So from there, I started learned that game programming was probably among the more challenging (and mathematically-oriented) fields of programming, so I thought I would try my hand at it. I ended up learning C/CPP pretty quickly (mostly by inventing algorithmic problems and writing code to solve them as efficiently as I could), but then I hit a *huge* wall. Trying to get into game programming with C++ seems to involve a whole lot of set-up before you can *do* anything. I feel gross copy-and-pasting the skeleton code for Windows programs.