• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
GrumpyMoose

C#/Mono Game Libraries

This topic is 3083 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First of all, I want to note that I'm still an extreme beginner at most of the stuff I will be asking you about, so please don't laugh at me for using the wrong terms and such.

I have been trying to get into hobbyist game development for the last two years. I've been using a vast variety of Tools, engines, languages, books, guides, tutorials etc. I've been having a lot of trouble finding the right thing for me.
Because I am very interested in programming in general (I am a computer-science student, and have just finished my first year with some troubles) I don't want to use any of those tools (By which I mean things such as Game Maker, Construct, Multimedia Fusion, etc.). I really want to program the game itself.

Now, I've had quite some trouble getting myself used to C++. At school they teach us Java (which I don't like all that much). I have begun using C# lately, and I'm really enjoying the language so far. It's a language I feel really comfortable with, and I never get the feeling I'm doing stuff that is unnecessary or overtly complicated. I started using XNA and I've toyed around with it for a while, just to see what it's all about. I really, really liked it. Unfortunately Microsoft doesn't allow Belgians to put games on the XBox Live Market, so XNA lost a lot of it's appeal to me (not that it's all about money for me, but developing games for the 360 was the cool part).