Getting into the industry.

Started by
42 comments, last by Tom Sloper 13 years, 9 months ago
Hello all. :)

First of all, if this is in the wrong area, I do apologize.

I've been thinking of what I want to do with my life after I leave college next year. After thinking about it, I decided becoming a games designer would be the best path for me, as I like video games it should be a job that I not only enjoy doing, but can make good money out of as well.

So, I decided to go to university to study something to get into the games design industry (I live in the United Kingdom), but here is where I hit a brick wall. I don't know what part of the industry get into.

I'm not good at drawing, so that rules me out of the art and drawing business. What other parts of the industry are there? :)

Secondly, how difficult is it to break into the industry once you have all the qualifications? And is the pay good?

Thanks for reading, and thank you for any help or advise you can other. :D

~Designer2Be
Advertisement
Moved to Breaking In. Desi: View Forum FAQ (above)

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Quote:After thinking about it, I decided becoming a games designer would be the best path for me

Why?

Quote:I don't know what part of the industry get into.

Didn't you just say design?

Quote:I'm not good at drawing, so that rules me out of the art and drawing business. What other parts of the industry are there? :)

Research.

Quote:Secondly, how difficult is it to break into the industry once you have all the qualifications?

Define difficult. You can't simply walk in with or without qualifications. You HAVE to be good at what you do and be good at proving it.

Quote:And is the pay good?

Define good. Again, research.

Steven Yau
[Blog] [Portfolio]

Hi, and thanks for the reply. :)

Quote:
Quote:After thinking about it, I decided becoming a games designer would be the best path for me

Why?