• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Strelok

The Beginning

This topic is 2907 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi comrades,

The name is Strelok, and I'm going right to the point. I want to push my hobby forward and work in a game concept I have. Not alone, but first I have to learn the things.

The only problem is that I don't know where to start.
The concept is a very simple 2D Tactical RPG. But I don'k know any programming language, and I'm not an artist. I'm a writer. I don't even know theorically how to make an mapgrid for an 2D engine. But I want to learn everything here.

So I want to start from the very beginning of all this.
First pinking up an programming language to learn such as VB6 or C# and studying it until mastering.
But I don't even know what means API or SDK or these other acronyms. Could you help me comrades? Can you guide me?

I would appreciate your help.

Thanks in advice,

Strelok.

Advertisement
I'm afraid I'm not good at long, in-depth posts, but I know lots of people on here are, and hopefully can give you something better than this.

API - Application Programming Interface (I think?) It's sort of a collection of related functions which build around something. So Win32 is an API for windows, SDL is a 2D graphics API.

SDK - Software Development Kit. The collection of libraries and header files and the like to actually create something. Very often you don't need this, unless it's DirectX or XNA or Unity or the Unreal one.

Firstly, 'mastering' a programming language takes years.
Secondly, I haven't really heard much of VB. It seems a little out of it, whereas C# is a more used, and more powerful language. (Especially with SlimDX or XNA).