• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
VISQI

question about game programming

This topic is 3001 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hey people,
i started programming about a year ago and i wasn't sure what i want to do but now i am determined to go for game programming, so i finished "Beginning C++ Through Game Programming, Second Edition" by Mike Dawson and hopefully understood everything in it thoroughly. i am hoping to start learning directx next from the book "Programming Role Playing Games with DirectX" by jim adams and reading a bit from "Game coding Complete, third edition" by Mike McShaffry. is that a good track or should i start learning a new language(thinking about Lua) or doing what exactly???

Appreciated

Advertisement
I think you've got some great books there. The Mike McShaffry one is definitely a good book to have.

Only other book I could recommend is "The Complete Reference C++" by Herbert Shildt, which I always have on hand when doing any C++ programming.

However, before jumping onto a DirectX game, I recommend you try writing a text game first in command line. This gives you some time to see what you can do without all the fancy stuff, and to strengthen your C++ knowledge. I challenge you to write an RPG in commandline! ^_^

I wouldn't suggest starting to learn a new language, not because C++ is some 'special language', just because you've already started it so keep learning how to program by continuing to use it (don't waste your time by making yourself learn a new language instead of concepts).

It sounds like you've already started 'game programming', but you're wanting to move into the realm of graphics? If that's the case, I'd take a look at SDL and SFML (You won't find books on these save maybe one or two on SDL) so you will need to read their API documentation and ask questions on the forums.