Few beginner concept questions

Started by
4 comments, last by mjfara 13 years, 9 months ago
Hello everyone,
I'm new to game programming, but have adequate C++ knowledge.
I'm starting to develop an iPhone game using the AirplaySDK.
This allows C++ programming in a windows environment for the iPhone.

I have created a simple side scrolling shooter to familiarize myself with the SDK.
So I learned concepts of collision detection, sprite animations, events, touch controls, and so on.

My next attempt is a sort of defense game, where you have to protect your king.
The game play will be similar to "Secret of Mana", sort of an action RPG.

I have a couple of questions regarding some more basic concepts:

1) Engine
I have read that I should be creating the engine for the game, and then creating the game after. Although this seems like the better idea, I am the only one working on this game, is it really worth my time? If so can anyone point me in the direction of game engine concepts and design?

2) Maps
Not sure if this should be tile based. I don't want the character to move in squares (like Final Fantasy) but rather a fluid 360 degree motion (Secret of Mana). If they are tile based, how can I go about creating a map? Rather than using tiles for buildings and such, I would rather create the image in photoshop or something, and use it as a sprite maybe?

3) Timespan, changing rooms, surfaces
This is a tough concept for me to grasp.
Lets say there is 2 rooms, 1 enemy is in 1 room, and I run to the other. At this point, the screen would change to the next room. Should I have this on another surface buffer and draw it depending on which room I'm in? Also, while I'm in the other room, I want that enemy to still continue walking toward the door I just walked through (this obviously wouldn't be shown), and appear in the room I'm in when he gets through the door.

If anyone can shed some light on these concepts it'd be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,

Matt
Advertisement