• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
dralbrent

Beginner C++ programmer: Where to Start?

This topic is 2983 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all. I am new to gamedev as well as new to any sort of programming. I have always been interested in the more technical side of games though and I have decided to start by learning C++. I am trying to find a good beginners book for someone who has never programmed before. Does anyone have any suggestions? And also are there any subsequent books that I should be looking at after the beginner's book to further my skills? Thanks for all the suggestions.

Advertisement
I would suggest starting with C# and XNA simply because it's so easy to get something up and running in a short space of time but can also cater for more advanced game programming. You can learn a lot of the basics of programming as well as more advanced object oriented concepts which can al carry over into C++ (And pretty much any other language you may use) when you have a little more experience under your belt.

Microsoft have their own series of beginner video tutorials for XNA that will take you through building a 2D or 3D game from scratch. Here is the 2D game tutorial:

Clicky

For the programming basics there is a wealth of information on the internet. Just Google "absolute beginner programming c#" for example to find a bunch of books and sites for you.

XNA or OpenGL??

I studied XNA and learnt manual shaders to draw basic shapes and manipulate them.
But my friend told me that OpenGL has got more scope than XNA.

Shall I go for OpenGL now?
I am comfortable with C# and thus XNA. For OpenGL, would I have to learn VC++.
I know C++. I have created many small games in C++ BGI graphics. But I dont know to handle Windows in VC++.