• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Leep

Communication - What to use?

This topic is 2994 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've just spent two mentally exhausting days researching the best technologies to use to do communication between clients or between clients and a server (be it a game server or lobby). I'm a C# developer (been programming as hobby and the professionally since late 80s) and will probably use XNA to develop some basic Windows games (Card games, Battleship, etc) before I get into anything more serious [the next greatest MMORPG! Hey, it could happen... ;)]. I'm very interested in the client-client and client-server network communication and the best ways to do it. My research turned up a quite overwhelming amount of information, everything from XNA's Windows Live, Lidgren library, WCF, Web Service(s)...

Here's some points I'm concentrating on:

1. XNA's Windows Live is completely out. It requires everyone connecting to have a paid XNA Developers Club membership to do networking with Windows. It seems to be just to allow developers to test games that will be released for the Xbox, not to make networkable Windows Games. The XNA redist for Windows does not include the Windows Live libraries that include the game lobby, etc.