• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
zoner7

Creating a a graph and a camera in OpenGL

This topic is 2897 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have a fairly simple assignment. I have a program that runs a long sequence of calculations, and I ultimately end up with a vector of a vector class that contains 3 coordinates.

I want to plot these points on a graph and then design a camera that is able to rotate the points in various directions. Nothing too complex.

I have simply curious how difficult this will be and if anyone can offer some guidance as to how I can begin to solve the problem. Note that I have VERY little experience with OpenGL.

Advertisement
By 'assignment', do you mean a homework assignment?

Also, what constraints or requirements are you working with? What language(s) can you use? Does it have to be rendered using raw OpenGL, or can you use some other graphics API or engine?

Basically, some more info would probably be helpful.

I am doing a research project this summer; in essence, I can solve the problem anyway I see fit.

The program is currently written in c++, and I've used SFML as well.

That should be quite do-able, but it's hard to give specific advice without knowing more about the background of the project.

I think what I'd suggest is just to dive in, and then post here on the forums with any specific questions you might have. As is, we don't know whether you're stuck on creating an OpenGL window and rendering your first triangle, or if you're stuck on making an interactive 'arcball' camera that allows you to rotate the graph around in real time. So, some additional info would probably be useful.