[web] PHP & Ecom

Started by
2 comments, last by leiavoia 13 years, 9 months ago
I have been a PHP developer for a little less than 6 years now, and somehow, have avoided e-com like the plague.

I'd like to sell licenses to my Flash games over my website, and after doing a modest amount of research on e-com, I have quickly become *overwhelmed* with third-party tools and systems.

I would like to find some sort of open source, secure, e-com DLL that I could just install on my server and tap into programmatically.

I've seen examples of this before, like with VeriSign's PC Charge system, where you can make a credit card payment (essentially) like this:

PcCreditCharge $charge = new PcCreditCharge();$charge->SetCardNumber("XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX");$charge->SetCardHolder("JOHN SMITH");// etc.// Submit paymentif($charge->Send()){    // Success!}else{    // Handle Error...}

PC Charge is expensive though. Is there anything like this that is: (1) PHP-compatible, (2) open source, (3) ultra-secure/PCI-compliant, etc., and (4) has the ability to make credit/debit card payments, as well as bank transfers, personal checks, etc.?

Thanks for any help here,
Ply
Advertisement
I've used Authorize.net in past. I haven't ever had any trouble with it in the last 4 years. They also do eCheck. They have a PHP "mockup" you can mostly cut and paste. The process basically boils down to this:

$vars = array( /* first name, last name, etc. */ );some_curl_setup_functions( blah );$response = send_data_via_curl( $vars );if ( $response['code'] == 1 ) { accepted }else { declined }

The point is, you don't need a big fancy set of PHP classes to handle this. If you've been PHP'ing for 6 years, you can easy write your own reusable class if you even need a class at all.

What you DO need is a credit card gateway. There's only a few of those and they all take their own parameters, all of which you can connect to using PHP (or anything else you can think of that can send HTTP requests).