confused with peekmessage and looping

Started by
7 comments, last by miggs 13 years, 8 months ago
hi

i built a inputmanager class, that has an update() method which is being called in my game loop. my problem is, i'm not really sure whether i'm placing my code in the right place and whether it is organized well.

my inputmanger::update() looks like:
{
if (msg.message == WM_QUIT)
this->quit = true;

TranslateMessage(&msg);
// is here the right place to call my own functions like:
// MouseHandler(msg);
// KeyboardHandler(msg);
// who then deal with the WM and VK events
DispatchMessage(&msg);
}

or am i mixing up stuff and approching it wrong? i read of some keyboard/mouse handler hooked functions, but im new to this and wouldn't know how.

thanks for your help
Advertisement
Why don't you do so from the Window Procedure function? Take the message apart and send the parameters as arguments.

Yo dawg, don't even trip.

how could i take them apart?

and do you mean simple function calls to my inputmanager->mouseHandler(wparam, lparam...) functions, or callbacks?

because all i see in examples are callbacks and i don't quite understand.

and do you mean this windows procedure?
WNDCLASSEX wincl;
wincl.lpfnWndProc = WindowsGUI::WindowProcedure;

?
Quote:Original post by miggs
and do you mean this windows procedure?
WNDCLASSEX wincl;
wincl.lpfnWndProc = WindowsGUI::WindowProcedure;
Yes, that's what boogyman is referring to (presumably).

Can you post the code for WindowsGUI::WindowProcedure()?
Quote:
LRESULT CALLBACK WindowsGUI::WindowProcedure (HWND hwnd, UINT message, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam)
{
switch (message) /* handle the messages */
{
case WM_DESTROY:
PostQuitMessage (0); /* send a WM_QUIT to the message queue */
break;
default: /* for messages that we don't deal with */
return DefWindowProc (hwnd, message, wParam, lParam);
}

return 0;
}